CITY OF NEW CARROLLTON MINUTES

Called to order 7:02 p.m. Via Zoom/Municipal Center, Room 230. In attendance were Councilmembers Cynthia DB Mills; Lincoln H.G. Lashley, Briana Urbina, and Allyne Hooks; Mayor Phelecia Nembhard; Mayor-Elect Katrina R. Dodro, Information Technology Administrator Andrew Facey, and City Clerk Araceli Guzman-Benitez.

1. ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE TO THE NEW MAYOR

The Honorable Mahasin El Amin, Clerk of the Circuit Court administered oath of office to Katrina R. Dodro, new mayor of the City of New Carrollton.

2. <u>THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS SEEKS EMERGENCY APPROVAL</u> <u>FROM THE CITY COUNCIL TO SUBMIT AN RFP FOR THE RECONSTRUCTION</u> <u>OF THE POWHATAN STREET BRIDGE</u>

The City Council tabled the topic.

3. ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA BY THE COUNCIL

Councilmember Urbina made a motion to table topics 2- 5 and 7 to 14 and to continue with the agenda. Chairperson Mills called for the vote. Councilmember Lashley seconded. The motion passed (4-0-0).

- 4. <u>UPDATE ON PGCPS PURCHASE OF CITY OF NEW CARROLLTON LAND</u> The City Council tabled the topic.
- 5. <u>COMMENTS FROM MAYOR NEMBHARD</u> No comment.

6. MEETING MINUTES

- a.) Council Workshop/Special Legislative Meeting (March 1, 2023)
- b.) Council Special Workshop Meeting (March 8, 2023)
- c.) Council Legislative Meeting (March 15, 2023)
- d.) Council Workshop Meeting (April 5, 2023)
- e.) Council Legislative Meeting (April 19, 2023)

The meeting minutes were not discussed.

OLD BUSINESS

7. ELECTION RESULTS – MAY 1, 2023

Motion: Chairperson Mills moved that the City Council accept the results of the City of New Carrollton Municipal General Election held on Monday, May 1, 2023, as delivered by Charles Davis, Chairman of the Board of Elections.

Councilmember Hooks seconded the motion. There was no discussion. Chairperson Mills called for the vote. The motion passed (4-0-0).

- 8. <u>MUNICIPAL CENTER SOLAR PANEL INSTALLATION PROPOSAL</u> The City Council tabled the topic.
- 9. <u>EMERGENCY REPLACEMENT OF THE COOLING TOWER AT THE MUNICIPAL</u> <u>CENTER</u>

The City Council tabled the topic.

- **10.** <u>ADOPTION OF THE FY2024 BUDGET ORDINANCE 23-02 (FIRST READING)</u> The City Council tabled the topic.
- 11. <u>**RESOLUTION 23-03 FY2024 SCHEDULE OF FEES**</u> The City Council tabled the topic.
- **12.** <u>**PURCHASE OF CODE ENFORCEMENT PERMIT LICENSING/BUDGET** The City Council tabled the topic.</u>
- **13.** <u>FUEL TANK REPLACEMENT</u> The City Council tabled the topic.
- **14.** <u>EMERGENCY PURCHASE OF A WATER TRUCK</u> The City Council tabled the topic.
- **15.** <u>**REVIEW OF PAID BILLS**</u> The City Council tabled the topic.
- 16. <u>SINE DIE ADJOURNMENT OF THE 2021-2023 COUNCIL</u> Chairperson Mills adjourned the 2021-2023 Council.

17. ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE TO NEW COUNCILMEMBERS

The Honorable Katrina R. Dodro, Mayor of the City of New Carrollton administered oath of office to the new Councilmembers of the City of New Carrollton:

Ryan Alexander Hussey David Chi-Wai Lai Lincoln HG Lashley Duane H. Rosenberg Briana Urbina

NEW BUSINESS

18. ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNCIL 2023-2025 FOR THE POSITION OF:

Chair.....Briana Urbina Vice Chair....Lincoln Lashley Mayor Pro-Tem.....Duane Rosenberg Alternate Treasurer.....David Lai Councilmember.....Ryan Alexander Hussey Chairperson Urbina made an acknowledgment and congratulated David Lai as the first Asian American to be elected as a Councilmember in the City of New Carrollton and the fourth Asian American to serve on municipal government in Prince George's County.

19. ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA BY THE COUNCIL

Chairperson Urbina announced that the Council has two motions to bring forward.

- 1.) Chairperson Urbina made a motion to appoint David G. Rice as Police Chief of the City of New Carrollton. Councilmember Lashley seconded the motion. A discussion followed. The motion passed (4-1-0).
- 2.) Chairperson Urbina made a motion to reinstate Andre Triplett as Director of Public Works for the City of New Carrollton. Councilmember Lai seconded the motion. A discussion followed. The motion passed (4-1-0).
- 3.) Chairperson Urbina recognized Ethan Sweep from the office of Congressman Glenn Ivey to present a proclamation to the new administration.
- 4.) Chairperson Urbina recognized Delegate Ashanti Martinez and Delegate Anne Healey.
- 5.) The Honorable Katrina R. Dodro, Mayor of the City of New Carrollton administered the oath of office of the Chief of Police David G. Rice; and the oath of office of the Director of Public Works Andre Triplett.

20. ADJOURNMENT

Chairperson Urbina moved to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Councilmember Lashley. The motion passed (5-0-0).

The meeting adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Araceli Guzman-Benitez

Araceli Guzman Benitez

City Clerk

Adopted by the City Council on August 16, 2023.